Non-proliferation, export control and disarmament

Cooperation between the Russian Federation and the European Union in non-proliferation, disarmament and arms control is based on the Road Map on the Common Space of External Security.

Russia and the EU both contribute to entry into force, higher efficiency and universalisation of key international instruments (Non-Proliferation Treaty – NPT; Convention on the Prohibition of the Development, Production, Stockpiling and Use of Chemical Weapons and on their Destruction – CWC; Convention on the Prohibition of Biological and Toxin Weapons – BTWC; Comprehensive Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty – CTBT; IAEA universal safeguards and Additional Protocol and the Hague Code of Conduct against Ballistic Missile Proliferation), as well as to strengthening and expanding export-control regimes (Missile Technology Control Regime – MTCR; Nuclear Supply Group – NSG; Wassenaar Agreements – WA). They also work together in combatting proliferation of weapons of mass destruction.

Russia and the EU have same or similar approaches to a wide range of issues in the area of non-proliferation and disarmament. They support convening a conference on the establishment of a Middle East zone free of nuclear weapons and all other weapons of mass destruction, as well as means of delivery, and cooperate in the field of security of space activities. The most vivid example of fruitful Russia-EU cooperation is the successful conclusion of the final agreement on the Iranian nuclear issue by the E3+3 and Iran on 14 July 2015, as well as their common efforts to implement the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPoA).