Inter-parliamentary dialogue

According to the Partnership and Cooperation Agreement (PCA) between Russia and EU, the main mechanism of inter-parliamentary cooperation is the Parliamentary Cooperation Committee (PCC). It includes members of two Chambers of the Russian Federal Assembly and members of the European Parliament and is co-chaired by Sergey Zheleznyak, Deputy Speaker of the State Duma (‘United Russia’ faction), and MEP Othmar Karas (Austria, ‘European People’s Party’).

Meetings are usually held in the form of Committee sessions, Bureau conferences (comprising Co-chairs and their deputies), enlarged Bureau conferences (with participation of individual members of the Committee) and Working Groups. Committee sessions are normally held annually. The latest 16th Committee session took place on 15–16 January 2014 in Strasbourg. A Joint Statement of Co-chairs on the inadmissibility of crimes against ethnic and confessional minorities in Syria, including Christians, was adopted. 

Since spring 2014 the European Parliament has unilaterally suspended its participation in the Russia-EU PCC.

Another track is cooperation between factions of the State Duma and the EU Parliament groups. The contacts among relevant committees of both Chambers of the Russian Federal Assembly and the EU Parliament are also developing, particularly between the International Affairs Committees.