+ -
Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation to the European Union

Submitted on 2016-05-12 07:05:45

Inter-parliamentary dialogue

According to the Partnership and Cooperation Agreement (PCA) between Russia and EU, the main mechanism of inter-parliamentary cooperation is the Parliamentary Cooperation Committee (PCC). Members of two Chambers of the Russian Federal Assembly and members of the European Parliament have taken part in it since its first session.

Meetings were held in the form of Committee sessions, Bureau conferences (comprising Co-chairs and their deputies), enlarged Bureau conferences (with participation of individual members of the Committee) and Working Groups. The latest 16th Committee session took place on 15–16 January 2014 in Strasbourg. A Joint Statement of Co-chairs on the inadmissibility of crimes against ethnic and confessional minorities in Syria, including Christians, was adopted. 

The Committee is now co-chaired by Sergey Zheleznyak, member of the Committee on Foreign Affairs of the State Duma (‘United Russia’), and MEP Othmar Karas (Austria, ‘European People’s Party’).

Since spring 2014 the European Parliament has unilaterally suspended its participation in the Russia EU PCC.

Source URL: https://russiaeu.ru/en/node/31