+ -
Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation to the European Union

Submitted on 2024-05-08 15:50:56

Comment by Chargé d’Affaires a.i. of the Russian Mission to the EU Kirill Logvinov for RTVi on EU discussions around the 14th package of anti-Russian sanctions, 8 May 2024


Like the negotiations on all the previous thirteen packages of restrictions against Russia, the work on yet another one promises to be difficult. This is further evidenced by the fact that the European Commission has decided not to make public the set of sanctions proposals that it put forward for discussion by the European capitals.

At this stage, there is little point in speculating on what the package will ultimately consist of. At the moment, it looks more like a compilation of "wish lists" on which, as usual, consensus will be difficult to reach. Take LNG, for example - given the high dependence of a number of Member States on its supply, it may take a while to find a common denominator.

The future package will be seriously affected by the extraordinary scale of the fight against so-called “Russian disinformation”. I doubt that the European bureaucracy realises the very negative consequences this could have for freedom of speech and democracy in the EU itself. What is presented as sanctions against our country is at the same time turning into an EU tool for manipulating European public opinion.

Another interesting point is that while the EU originally planned to adopt the 14th package before the European Parliament elections on 6-9 June 2024, it now seems to be aiming to agree on it by July. This proves once again that the next round of sanctions, like all the previous ones, will have extremely negative consequences for the EU economy, businesses and ordinary citizens. The European bureaucracy clearly sees no interest in making announcements before the EU-wide elections about new difficulties that Europe will inevitably face.


Source URL: https://russiaeu.ru/en/node/7886

+ -
Постоянное представительство Российской Федерации при Европейском союзе

Опубликовано 2024-05-08 15:50:56

Комментарий и.о. Постпреда России при ЕС К.М.Логвинова для RTVI относительно дискуссий в ЕС вокруг 14-го «пакета» антироссийских санкций, 8 мая 2024 г.


Работа над очередным 14-м «пакетом» рестрикций в отношении России, как и согласование  всех предыдущих, обещает быть непростой. Об этом говорит и тот факт, что Еврокомиссия предпочла не афишировать набор санкционных предложений, которые она вынесла на обсуждение евростолицами.

На данном этапе предполагать, что в конечном счете войдет в «пакет», не имеет особого смысла. Сейчас это больше похоже на перечень «запросных позиций», консенсус по которым, как обычно, будет формироваться с трудом. Если говорить о том же СПГ, то с учетом высокой зависимости от его поставок в ряд стран-членов поиск общего знаменателя может занять довольно продолжительное время.

Серьезный отпечаток на будущем «пакете» оставит достигшая невиданнго размаха борьба с т. н. «российской дезинформацией». Сомневаюсь, что евробюрократия осознает, какие крайне отрицательные последствия это может иметь для свободы слова и демократии в самом ЕС. То, что внешне выглядит как санкции против нашей страны, одновременно превращается в есовский инструмент манипулирования европейским общественным мнением.  

Примечательно и то, что если изначально в планах ЕС принятие 14-го «пакета» было намечено до выборов в Европарламент 6-9 июня 2024 г., то теперь, похоже, ставится задача согласовать его до июля. Это еще раз подтверждает, что очередная порция санкций, как и все предыдущие, будет иметь крайне негативные последствия для есовской экономики, бизнеса и рядовых граждан. Понятно, что до общеесовских выборов евробюрократии невыгодно анонсировать новые трудности, которые неминуемо ждут Европу.

https://rtvi.com/stories/gaz-neft-i-finansirovanie-partij-chto-vojdet-v-14-j-paket-sankczij-protiv-rossii/


Source URL: https://russiaeu.ru/ru/node/7886